ALexander Zverev congratulated Carlos Alcaraz, who He beat the German tennis player in a Roland Garros final that was decided on cinco sets (6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1 y 6-2 ) and it lasted 4 hours and 19 minutes.

Alcaraz is crowned at Roland Garros: a direct end to the history of Spanish sport

“He imposes a higher intensity on the game… The intensity of his tennis is incredible, compared to other rivals. I am convinced that he can maintain it until the fifth set. At that moment I was no longer hitting him that hard. I have to see what I can do to reach the same level as him,” Zverev acknowledged in words reproduced by the agency EFE.

The refereeing controversy of the Roland Garros final between Zverev and Alcaraz: out by 2 millimeters

The German tennis player was critical of a decision by chair umpire Renaud Lichtenstein in the fifth set that would have meant he had the ball to make a break to go 2-2 (he ended up losing 6-2 ).

Lichtenstein called a ball from Alcaraz well on a second serve that television images showed was off by two millimeters.

The chair umpire made Alcaraz repeat the second serve to the disbelief of the German tennis player.

Alexander Zverev: “Referees make mistakes… but in a situation like this you want there to be no mistakes”

At the press conference Alexander Zverev did not forget the controversial play that, according to him, was decisive for the final outcome of the match: “In the fifth set there were moments when I was unlucky. I have heard that the 2-1 ball was out, that his second serve had gone according to the hawk’s eye. If he managed to break there, the fifth set could have ended differently. manner”.

“There is a difference if you are 3-1 down in the fifth set or if you are tied 2-2. It is a defining difference. And in the end it is frustrating, but it is what it is. Referees make mistakes, they are also humans and that’s it. But of course in a situation like this you want there to be no mistakes,” he reflected.

Source link