Joil Merklerinternational with the XV del León, has become the first Spaniard to play and win a final of Champions League. Merkler played part of the second half and extra time with Toulouse Stadiumin a tense match against the Leinster Irish that was decided (31-22) in added time in which the French played with more poise than the Irish.

The triumph is the sixth for Stade Toulousain, after those of 1996, 2003, 2005, 2010 and 2021. There are two more than those of the Leinsterdefeated for the third consecutive year in the final.

The French team, which had shown itself very strong in the attack throughout the Champions League, he built his victory in the final on a great defending on the grass of the Tottenham Hotspurs Stadium. There were no trials during the first 80 minutes and it was the kickers who took center stage. Toulouse had two clear try chances but they were canceled because Antoine Dupontback from Seven, and Romain Ntamack They stepped off the field. To the time limit Ciar�n Frawley He attempted a drop shot that would have given Leinster the victory (15-15 in the 80th minute), but without success.

Toulouse decided in extra time, taking advantage of James Lowe received card yellow and they started the extension in superiority. They managed to make room for Lebel, who scored the only try of the afternoon. Afterwards, the foot of Ramoswith a transformation and a punishing blow, established a 10-point lead (25-15).

Leinster had his chance when a minute before Lowe returned to the field, Richie Arnold received card roja. Josh Van den Flier scored a try that brought the Irish closer (25-22) but then his game descontrol� and Toulouse, with more solvency, decided with two shots scored with Thomas Ramos.

Leinster: Keenan; Larmour, Henshaw, Osborne, Lowe; R. Byrne, Gibson-Park; Porter, Sheehan, Furlong, McCarthy, Jenkins, Baird, Connors, Doris (c). Finishers: Kelleher, Healy, Ala’alatoa, Ryan, Conan, McGrath, Frawley, Van der Flier.

essays: Van der Flier. Conv. Frawley. Hits: R. Byrne (4), Frawley

Toulouse: Kinghorn; Mallia, Costes, Ahki, Lebel; Ntamack, Dupont (capt); Baille, Mauvaka, Aldegheri, Flament, Meafou, Willis, Cros, Roumat. Finishers: Marchand, Neti, Merkler, Arnold, Brennan, Graou, Chocobares, Ramos.

essays: Lebel Conv. Ramos. Hits: Kinghorn (4), Ramos (4)

�rbitro: Matthew Carley. Yellow for Lowe (Leinster) and red for Arnold (Toulouse)

Source link